Does M&M’s have peanuts? If you’ve been asking this question, you are on the right page. Tag along for the ride and you will get the answers to this question and more.
This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. This helps keep the content on this site free.
A bit about M&M’s Chocolate
M&M’s chocolate is a product of Mars Wrigley Confectionery. It is multiple-colored button-shaped chocolate. It has lower case “m” printed on one side of the chocolate. This type of chocolate is round with a candy shell that melts in your mouth.
And it comes in several varieties. The first variation of M&M’s to be introduced was the Peanut M&M, it contained peanuts covered in milk chocolate and then a candy shell. Other varieties include peanut butter, almond, pretzel, crispy, caramel, dark chocolate, and others, some are not available in some geographical locations.
M&M’s ingredients include:
Sugar, cocoa mass, skimmed milk powder, cocoa butter, lactose, starch, milk fat, palm fat, glucose syrup, shea fat, stabilizer (gum arabic), dextrin, glazing agents (beeswax, carnauba wax), colors (E100, carmine, E132, E133, E150a, E150c, E150d, E153, E160a, E160e, E162, E163, E170), beetroot concentrate, palm kernel oil, salt, emulsifiers (soya lecithin, E445), flavorings, antioxidant (E306). (May contain: peanut, almond, hazelnut). Milk chocolate contains milk solids of 14% minimum.
The Milk chocolate contains vegetable fats and cocoa butter.
Does M&M’s have peanuts: Frequently asked questions
Asides from asking if M&M’s chocolate contains nuts, consumers have also been asking a lot of similarly related questions on Google. In this section, we’ll try as much as possible to answer the most pressing questions:
Q1. Does M&M’s have peanuts?
The original M&M’s does not have peanuts but there is a warning that states that it may contain peanuts. This is because the facility used in producing it is also used to produce other products that contain peanuts. This is a risk to peanut-allergic people.
However, there is a peanut version (the one that has a yellow package). If you stay hooked on the original M&M’s though, you won’t have any reason to come across any peanuts as you munch.
Q2. Is M&M’s Gluten-free?
M&M is said to be gluten-free. However, the manufacturers of M&M do not make any statement about their product being gluten-free.
Many varieties of M&M do not contain gluten ingredients and it’s safe to take if you are not allergic to gluten but if you are, try not to take it. Some of these products may not contain gluten but because they are produced in the same facility where other products with gluten are produced, there is a chance they may have it.
Q3. M&M’s Colors
They come in several colors. The original colors of M&M’s chocolate were red, brown, yellow, violet, and green. They stopped using violet and replaced it with tan in the late 1940s. They kept changing some colors. Until 1969, each M&M pack contain five different colors but red was reintroduced in 1987. So, now there are six colors.
Peanuts And Its Allergic Reactions
Peanuts are also called groundnuts. It is a source of proteins, vitamins, and minerals. It can come in different forms, like salted, roasted, chocolate-coated, and even peanut butter. These forms have different nutritional content and benefits.
However, some people are allergic to eating peanuts. Whenever they take it, they react to it. These are some of the symptoms of this allergy:
- Skin reactions like swelling, hives, or redness of the skin.
- Itching around the mouth and throat.
- Digestive issues like nausea or vomiting, diarrhea, and stomach cramps.
- Throat tightening.
- Shortness of breath.
- Anaphylaxis (Life-threatening reaction).
If you know you have this allergy, you have to be careful about the food and snacks that you eat.
Does M&M’s have peanuts: Conclusion
Hope this article was helpful and you have gotten to know that your favorite M&M’s chocolate does not contain peanuts and there are also other m&m varieties. If you have any questions or contributions, write them below in the comment section.